DIY baby food jars turned chalkboard label spice jars

jar pic

Yes, like everyone else in the blogosphere I am completely obsessed with everything chalkboard. I saw some over priced but fantastic spice jars at world market with adorable chalkboard labels. I keep some pretty obscure things in my pantry and the ability to customize my labels was important. The chalkboard labels were perfect for that. My seasoning collection was bigger than my budget. The jars from hobby lobby were cheaper but still too expensive. I have some fantastic friends who happen to have a surplus of baby food jars. They saved them for me knowing with my craftiness that I would find a use for them. That I did. I had read several tutorials on converting baby food jars into spice jars. I wasn’t really satisfied with the outcome and more importantly I didn’t have those supplies on hand. This is a very easy way to make some professional looking spice jars from baby food jars. All you need is some gloss spray paint, baby food jars, chalk, label remover, and chalkboard labels….that is it. This is such a cheap craft that I was kicking myself for not doing it sooner. I had everything on hand, so it didn’t cost me a cent!

DSCN8052

This is the goo gone I used.

The first step was to soak the jars and lids in hot soapy water. I went ahead and washed them to remove any left over pureed peas and prunes. Next you will need to remove those stinking labels. This is the hardest part of the entire project. It took a bit of trial and error before I remembered buying some goo gone for a wine bottle craft a while back. I would suggest lining the jars up on their sides in the sink and spraying them thoroughly with goo gone. Allow the jars to sit for a while. You can use a razor blade or SOS pad to remove the labels and goo. You will need to wash the jars once again in hot soapy water to get all of the remover off. Dry the jars and lids completely before going on.

Clean and Dry Jar and Lids

Clean and Dry Jars and Lids

Set the lids out on a ground cover and spray with a good coat of your choice of gloss spray paint.

DSCN8062

Allow that coat to dry and repeat the painting and drying process until all exterior angles of the lids are covered. DO NOT paint the inside of the lids! We want these to remain food safe. This is why it is important to have the lids flat out on a ground cover before painting.

DSCN8061

I couldn’t get the numbers on the top of the lid covered but that is ok because it will be covered with a label. Allow your lids to dry completely for a day after you are done painting. They shouldn’t be sticky to the touch at all.

These are the labels that I made. If you don't have the supplies to make your own labels are available at craft suppliers for only cents.

These are the labels that I made. If you don’t have the supplies to make your own, labels are available at craft suppliers for only cents each.

Now you will need to get your labels around. I used 1 1/2 inch scalloped round self adhering labels and rectangular labels for the sides of the jars. I had the stuff on hand to make my own, but they are super cheap on etsy.com. First off I wiped the lid down with a paper towel and centered my round label onto the top of the lid and stuck it on. I went ahead and labeled the jars with the name of the future contents using my chalk marker. I wiped the jar down and adhered the other labels onto the aide of the jars. Some of the jars had numbers printed on them so I was careful to make  sure that the label covered them up.

Make sure to cover blemishes like numbers with careful label placement.

Make sure to cover blemishes like numbers with careful label placement.

I used a coffee filter as a funnel and filled up the jars. I really love how these turned out. Now I just have to find a better way to display them than on my kitchen bookshelf. World Market and Ikea both have some promising shelves. By labeling the jars on the side and the top the name will be viewable when jars are stored in a drawer, on a shelf, or even stacked in a cabinet. Now my pantry isn’t full of random unlabeled baggies full of numerous herbs and spices. Ahhhh organization!

pic

Leave a Reply

